Sharing Reports

With Whom and What to Share?

When sharing reports with others, always keep your audience in mind. What information should they be allowed to see? What level of detail do they really need to see? Not everyone wants or needs to see the most detailed reports!

Sharing Options

You may have people at your organization who need access to some of the reports on a regular basis.

There are three options for sharing reports. Go to File > Share in the Google Sheets file menu to see the first two.

file share menu
Option 1 - Share with Others

This will share the entire workbook with someone. They would have access to every worksheet...everything you see.

You can grant read-only access or full editing access. Be careful using this option!

Option 2 - Publish to Web

This allows you to pick specific worksheets to share as read-only web pages.

Click on the dropdown labeled “Entire Document" and change to the report you wish to share and click “Publish”.

select workbook to share

A unique report URL will be generated. Copy the URL to send to those that need it.

Shared worksheets will be viewable by anyone with the report URL. Someone you share the URL with could share it with someone else, so use caution when sharing and avoid sharing sheets that contain confidential information, such as specific donor names or an individual's salary information.

Before sharing a URL, open the URL yourself to ensure you are only sharing what you intended to share.

By default, reports will update to reflect changes every few minutes. If you do not want the reports to automatically refresh, you can uncheck the republish box under "Published content & settings".

shared report automatic refresh

Repeat for any other reports you would like to share. Note that each report will generate a separate, unique URL.

If you wish to stop sharing a report, go into publish to the web. Under "Published content & settings", click the dropdown to see each sheet that is shared (shared sheets will have a checkbox next to them). Click a shared report to uncheck those you wish to no longer share.

unsharing reports

Or, click the "Stop Publishing" button to stop sharing all shared reports.

Option 3 - Print

Go to the report you wish to print. Click File > Print in the Google Sheets file menu. This will load the worksheet in a print window. You can print or save to a PDF to send a static report.

printing reports